Confederation of African Football have shortlisted three Nigerian stars for this year's CAF African Player of the Year award set for Dakar, Senegal on Tuesday, January 8, 2019.

Arsenal star Alex Iwobi, Al Nassr's Ahmed Musa and Chinese based forward Odion Ighalo are the Super Eagles players who made the 34 man list.



The trio played a key role in securing the country's return to the African Cup of Nations tourney for the first time since 2013.

Having failed to qualify for the last two editions, and were also impressive for the country at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Liverpool and Egypt forward Mohamed Salah is the current holder of the prize following his superb performance for both club and country last year.

He led the Pharaohs back to the global football showpiece after scoring five goals in five matches during the qualification process.

Liverpool forward Sadio Mane, Idrissa Gueye of Everton, Man City summer signing Riyad Mahrez, Wilfried Zaha (Cote d'Ivoire & Crystal Palace) and Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto) are other contenders for the prize.

Kanu Nwankwo was the last Nigerian star to win the award during his reign at Arsenal football club in 1999.

He beat Samuel Kuffour and Ibrahima Bakayoko to emerge the winner over 19 years back.

Download Now