Former Vice-President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar has emerged as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) flag bearer for the 2019 presidential election after winning the party's 2018 Elective National Convention held in Port- Harcourt.

Alhaji Abubakar contested for the party's ticket alongside 11 other contestants including Senate President Bukola Saraki, Sokoto State Governor Aminu Tambuwal, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, and former National Chairman Ahmed Makarafi.

Voting commenced late on Saturday, October 6and lasted all through the night as party delegates from 36 states of the federation and the FCT, took turns to vote for their preferred candidate, with most observers indicating that the process was seamless, free and fair.

Collation and counting of votes began on Sunday morning, October 7 by 10:35 am and the result of the election was officially announced by 12: 19pm

Atiku was handed the official PDP flag by the Chairman of the party, Uche Secondus, flanked by former President Goodluck Jonathan and Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State.

The former vice president is expected to announce who his running mate will be in the coming days.

See the full result below: 

Void Votes - 68

Donald Jang - 19

Datti Baba - Ahmed - 05

David Mark - 35

Kabiru Turaki - 65

Sule Lamido - 96

Attahiru Bafarawa - 48

Dankwabo - 111

Ahmed Makarafi - 74

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso - 158

Bukola Saraki - 317

Waziri Aminu Tambuwal - 693

Atiku Abubakar - 1532

Download Now