Yahaya Bello

Kogi State Government has declared a 24-hour curfew in five local government areas of the Central senatorial district.

The affected local government areas are Adavi, Ajaokuta, Okene, Okehi and Ogori/Magongo.

Chief Press Secretary to Governor Yahaya Bello, Petra Akinti Onyegbule, disclosed this in a statement, yesterday.

No reason was given for the action which was taken late Wednesday.

"This is a notice of a 24-hour curfew imposed on residents of the five local government areas of central senatorial district beginning from midnight (the next one hour).

"This curfew will last for 24 hours and it is absolute. No movement whatsover shall be allowed.

"All residents of Adavi, Ajaokuta, Okehi, Okene, Ogori/Magongo Local Government Areas are advised to comply with this directive as anyone who runs foul would have themselves to blame.

"Government regrets every inconvenience this might cause and assures citizens and residents that this decision has been taken in the best interest of the state."

The governor also said the high rate of insecurity in the state has been a major source of concern to the government.

Last week, a labour leader, Abdulmumini Yakub was killed in Okene.

Download Now