Kanye West Is The Person I Look Up To - Skales

Kanye West Is The Person I Look Up To - Skales

Raoul John Njen-Njeng, popularly known as Skales, is a rapper who was discovered during the 2008 edition of Zain Tru Search talent competition and the Soundcity Blast concert in 2009.  The songwriter talks about his career

Tell us about yourself

My name is Raoul John Njeng-Njeng. I am from Edo State and fans know me as Skales.  I am a hip-hop artiste/songwriter and I was born on April 1, 1991. I studied Office Management and Technology in Lead City University.

What does your name Skales mean?

Skales is an acronym for Seek-Knowledge-Acquire-Large-Entrepreneurial-Skills.

When did you start music and how has it been so far?

I started music a long time ago, since when I was a young kid of five years. But professionally, I started six years ago with a record label.  Music has been good.  It has been a learning process for me.  At the moment, I am still growing up, learning more, getting better and making more money.

What is your inspiration?

What inspires me is the whole essence of life and my experience on a daily basis.  When I did my single, “Heading for a Grammy” in 2009, I was going through a lot at that time and the experience provided a lot of content for my music. In the song, I was talking about being the best and going on to become the most incredible.  I was saying I was going to be a great person.

If you were to sing about something as we speak, what would you sing about?

I would sing about what is happening at the moment, whether good or bad. Also, I have met a lot beautiful people today and they can inspire a whole lot of lyrics.

How was it like growing up?

I grew up in Kaduna. I moved to Lagos about six years ago.

Did you meet Banky W in Kaduna?

No. I met him when I moved to Lagos.

When were you able to finally break into the industry and get noticed?